Helena Hauff announced the release of a new album called ‘Qualm‘, on August 3. It will be launched via Ninja Tune, the UK label which the german DJ has a long-running relationship with.

Hauff explained the title was chosen for its duality, nodding both to the German translation for qualm (“kvalm”) – which translates either as smoke fume – and the English meaning, which denotes a feeling of unease, particularly about one’s own conduct. While working on the album, she described the process as “trying to create something powerful without using too many instruments and layers” and the album is considered “unapologetically raw”.

We haven’t had an album from her since 2015’s ‘Discreet Desires’. However, she released a four-track EP last year called ‘Have You Been There, Have You Seen It’.

Listen to ‘Qualm’ and ‘No Qualms’ from the album and see the tracklist below.

1. Barrow Boot Boys
2. Lifestyle Guru
3. btdr-revisited
4. Entropy Created You And Me
5. Fag Butts In The Fire Bucket
6. Hyper-Intelligent Genetically Enriched Cyborg
7. The Smell Of Suds And Steel
8. Primordial Sludge
9. Qualm
10. No Qualms
11. Panegyric
12. It Was All Fields Around Here When I Was A Kid

About The Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.